2017 STEM Innovation Award Winners Announced!

Congratulations to the 2017 STEM Innovation Award Winners:

The 2017 STEM Innovation Award winners include EnCorps STEM Teachers Program, which supports teachers in high-needs schools, and Women’s Audio Mission, which inspires underserved young women and girls to pursue STEM studies that include music and the arts.

The winners will be honored at SVEF’s 13th annual Pioneers & Purpose Celebration for Education to be held on WednesdayNov. 8 at the Fairmont San Jose. The event will also honor Steve Luczo, Executive Chairman of Seagate Technology, as Pioneer Business Leader, and Lisa Carrell, a 6th grade science and language arts teacher and 8th grade math teacher at Ocala STEAM Academy in San Jose, as Teacher of the Year.

“These recipients represent organizations that offer exciting, forward-thinking work in STEM education that inspire students to explore STEM fields as future career choices,” said SVEF Interim CEO Manny Barbara. “Their work directly addresses the  critical need to mitigate our dire STEM workforce shortage.”  

The STEM Innovation Award winners were selected by a group of educated thought leaders who have demonstrated outstanding work in the STEM community. The 2017 selection committee included Tom Baker, SVEF Board Member and Chairman of the Selection Committee; Gabriel Alcantar from Langan Engineering; Karl Glaub from Google; Eric Heitmann from CBRE; Kira Walter from Google, and Winnie Yu from Flex.

Previous STEM Innovation Award Winners

2016 STEM Innovation Award Winners
EAST initiative
Girl Scouts of Northern California
Level Playing Field Institute
Lincoln High  School Computer Science Program


2015 STEM Innovation Award Winners
Project Lead The Way, Inc. presented by Flex
e-Nable Educators’ Exchange presented by SanDisk
Engineering Projects in Community Service (EPICS) presented by EY
Girlstart presented by Oracle


2014 STEM Innovation Award Winners
California Alliance of African American Educators presented by EY
Ravenswood Makerspace Collaborative presented by Flextronics
Green Ninja Project presented by SanDisk
Lawrence Hall of Science presented by Oracle


2013 STEM Innovation Award Winners
Science – Globaloria presented by Chevron Energy Solutions
Technology – The Tech Academy of Silicon Valley presented by Flextronics
Engineering – Engineering is Elementary presented by Oracle Corporation
Math – Mathematics Engineering Science Achievement (MESA) presented by EY


2012 STEM Innovation Award Winners
Science –  Techbridge presented by Symantec
Technology – Level Playing Field Institute presented by Flextronics
Engineering – Computer History Museum presented by Oracle Corporation
Math –  MIND Research Institute presented by Ernst & Young


2011 STEM Innovation Award Winners
Science – The Tech Museum presented by Symantec
Technology – MOUSE Squad of California presented by Oracle Corp.
Engineering – FIRST of Northern California presented by Microsoft
Math – Jose Valdes Math Institute presented by Ernst & Young

The 2017 STEM Innovation Awards are sponsored by leading Silicon Valley Companies.

Interested in supporting leading STEM program as one of our STEM Innovation Sponsors?

Email alayna@svefoundation.org.

John Smith

John SMith Test 1 Pop Up here

Jane Smith

Jane SMith Test 1 Pop Up here